Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

Body Dimensions

Hey all, I am kinda new to the T bucket but I am planning on building one from scratch. I just can't seem to find any body dimensions. I have the frame dimensions. Any help would be great!

what do ya need?? i have a '19 roadster body all in pieces.

Ron

well I have nothing to go by so anything you can give me would be a start. I plan one building this from sheet metal and sense I don't have a buck or something to follow I'm lost.

most all the panels would be doable except for the cowl top. that you can find on e-bay all day long. that leaves you with the drivers side panel, the passenger side pannel ( would make that in two pieces ), the door and the rear panel. the inside bracing pieces you can fab anyway you want or are able to. i would start with the rear panel. with that fabbed and the cowl top, the sides would be easy to build ,like filling in the gaps.

i made a '29 sedan into a roaster pick up. the two most helpfull tools i had were a 4' beam compass for checking like measurements and an internal fixture made from 3/4" sq. tubing. i made the fixture like a box frame and then welded pieces of tubing to it to pick up like measurements off the panels. just make sure the frame work is very square. when you're dealing with compound curves, a 1/16" can throw everything out of plumb real quick.

one more word of caution ... be prepared for requests for panels from some of the members here.

this sounds like a fun project. keep me posted. i'll help anyway i can.

Ron

No kidding about the 1/16 off!!! I build tube chassis and if I am off even by a 1/32 10 feet down the line its off BAD!!!

"be prepared for requests for panels from some of the members here."

Not a problem haha, once I draw it all up on my CNC machine cutting them out is only seconds.