Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

Carb advice

Bubblehead

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Okay, I am still learning the car that I have had for 7 months. Now that the weather has warmed up a bit I have had a chance to drive it a little more and I need some advice. The car has a SBC (350) in it with an Edelbrock tunnel ram (I was told it is the street friendly tunnel ram but can't find any markings on it to verify that) and 2 500 CFM Edelbrock carbs and I was told it has an "RV cam" (nothing too crazy). The carbs are set up with progressive linkage and the secondary carb does not come "into play" until about half throttle. The car starts, runs and cruises fine, but here's my problem- even after it is nice and warmed up if you jump on it from a dead stop it really falls on it's face. If you roll into it, no problem and it will get up and go. I just don't like the significant stutter it has if you jump on it. I have not messed with dual carbs before too much (if at all), but I used to be somewhat of a wrench turner before I spent 26 years in the Navy on submarines (that kind of bit into my hobbies a little). Now that I am retired from the Navy (still working) I wanted to get back into my car hobby. I know back when I was messing with cars a lot more I would think the above problem was too much carburetor. I have done some searches and found some smaller Holley carbs (390 CFM), but they are pretty expensive and I am not sure that will fix my stutter. I really like the looks of the tunnel ram and would like to keep dual carbs on top. I have rebuilt/re-jetted Holly carbs back in the late 70s and early 80s, but not much since then. The Edelbrock carbs do not appear to be as easy to re-jet as the Holleys are/were, but still "doable". I know you can't help me troubleshoot this issue on this site, but I just don't know where to start to get rid of that stumble. Any thoughts? -Glenn

Last edited: