Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

What to do next?

2xcrash

image.jpg First time builder so I'm worried to make a mistake on what order to work on this next.
Do I finish the brakes, I've bent the lines already. Do I get it running? Do I finish the drive line and instill shifter? Cooling, electrical or steering????
If I could get some advice It'll sure help...

I'm sure everyone has an opinion , mine is :finish everything before you start the motor, otherwise the temptation to "run around the block " unfinished will get you ! Finish everything !!!
dave

I'm new at the from scratch car building myself but have built quite a few bikes and I'm learning they have a lot in common. My advice would be to finish all the suspension with the exact size rims/tires you will run, engine/trans in place, radiator and shroud, then roll that sucker outside, get a lawn chair out and stare at and enjoy the view a few hours out of the shop. You just can't get perspective till you stand 50 feet away and walk around it. I would say tackle steering and brake master setup together as they can interfere with each other. I moved my car out of the shop a couple weeks ago and I sure am glad I did. In the shop the diff placement looked awesome but 50 feet away it sucked! Moved it 3 inches forward and bammo that did it!

After ALL the major components are in place I'd fire that puppy up for motivation!!

I am new at this but that advice was just learned the hard way as I tried to get the cart ahead of the horse myself! Good luck with the build!