Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

Worried about frame strength

medic0079

Hey guys long time lurker first time poster. I have a tbucket that my dad bought back in 1990. he bought it with the intention of a father son project that never happened. it originally had a 327 chevy motor, and the rear end/front end was from a 55 chevy. long story short I got it back from him and want to finish it. I pulled off the body and got it mostly to the frame. the problem I have is the frame seems very weak. I can grab the fenders and torque the frame back and forth with minimal effort. it seems to flex at the rear frame connector most. is this normal for these? can it be braced somehow?
pics are in this photobucket album
http://photobucket.com/tbucket
thanks a bunch for the advise.
Noah

I'm no expert... Really I'm just a couple clicks above idiot... But that kinda looks like an original T frame to me. I hear they are pretty weak for modern power... Maybe Youngster or someone with more knowledge will chime in...

2012-05-27_19-27-50_346.jpg

Yep, that is an original model T frame. I'm sure I will catch some flack for this comment, but IMO a model T frame is only good under a stock model T or a model T Speedster. Even boxed they are way too old and flimsy for a T bucket with modern hp. Take that frame and use it as a model to build a new one out of 2 x 3 tubing with either a 1/8 or 3/16 wall thickness. You will end up with less work in it doing it that way and a better foundation for your hot rod too.

Post some pictures of the rest of it, I would like to see what they did.

Don