Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

Shock mounting??

Fourdy

Thanks to your help with shocks, I ordered a couple of monroe 5752 shocks for the front of my 24T cpe. I can't find anywhere that tells me what the mounting length should be. In other words, if the shock say would have a 4" travel, do I mount it centered? 2" of travel each way? Maybe I give a little more travel on the up side?

Your help and expertise will be most appreciated.

Thanks again,

Fourdy

fourdy's photos and albums on webshots

I'm no expert as you'll see.(other posts coming)But logic tells me if the shocks are mounted with the car sitting no jacks that half way two up two down would be the way to go.

There is no weight on the shock in the static position IE just sitting.I agree with you on the weight of the car so you dont want a Mack truck shock on a 2000lb car.

mounting length can vary on coilover shocks. you can have more or less rebound length than you do dampening...

depends on the shock maufacturer probably, you need to check and make sure.

i know ive mounted coilovers in the past that were not centered on the stroke like your stating......

you probably already know this but install the shocks with the chassis at ride heigth. you be surprised how many don't.

Ron

I'm no expert as you'll see.(other posts coming)But logic tells me if the shocks are mounted with the car sitting no jacks that half way two up two down would be the way to go.
Thats what i said 4 posts ago Ron.

opps...my bad.......

Ron

I was kind of hoping that someone had installed shocks, like the 5752 and noted the how you set the travel spacing. Our T's must weigh pretty close.

Has anyone had to change the mounting length to correct a travel problem?

Thanks again,

Fourdy

Fourdy said:
In other words, if the shock say would have a 4" travel, do I mount it centered? 2" of travel each way? Maybe I give a little more travel on the up side?

Fourdy,