Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

Welding Skill

Studebucket

I have not welded in years, perhaps a decade or more and when I did it was hit or miss quality. I used an old Lincoln arc welder. Is there anyone here who can give tips to practicing welding ? If I build a frame, I see no reason why I couldn't dust off the old Lincoln and use it. Is there a reason I should invest in a Mig other than to have a Mig? I would like to do this myself but am a bit leary on building a chassis.

I am not a professional welder, but I have seen professional welders do some amazing things with an ac stick welder, or for that matter an acetylene torch. It's just a matter of familiarity and practice. I have a lincoln stick welder and a Miller mig. The lincoln is fine for melting heavy iron, but the mig is much more forgiving, especially on lighter gauge steel. The weld is much cleaner also, if you aren't really good with a stick welder the slag can be a real chore to clean up.

Studebucket said:
I have not welded in years, perhaps a decade or more and when I did it was hit or miss quality. I used an old Lincoln arc welder. Is there anyone here who can give tips to practicing welding ? If I build a frame, I see no reason why I couldn't dust off the old Lincoln and use it. Is there a reason I should invest in a Mig other than to have a Mig? I would like to do this myself but am a bit leary on building a chassis.

Investing in a newer machine is your choice, but if ya can't remember how to weld with the machine you have, then buying a new one will not help....:sad:
I also have one of those fine old Lincoln welders, I welded my frame with it and over the past 40 years, lots of other stuff too. As a "AC" Stick machine they are great and easy to learn with.