Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

My Slow Moving Project

Hello everyone,
I posted about my 2.3 liter T Bucket project in my intro thread
but I thought this would be the proper place to post updates. I have been talking since 1990 and still no completed car ;) I believe i will get it done this time.

So far I have

Original T Grill Shell

I-Beam Axle from 34 V-8 Ford

1988 Ford 2.3 engine and transmission

My leg doner (ROUGH) grill shell failed to sell for 1.99 on Ebay so now my plan is to break it down and rived it to the floor of my ride to save a little sheet metal from the scrap heap. I am now also currently the high bidder on a '26 or '27 amp meter and ignition setup (I guess close to an instrument panel as they had) on Ebay, if I win that will look nice in my bucket.
All my friends tell me to go for the frame as next on my list but I plan on defying logic and ordering a body instead. When I have the body on hand it will motivate me to finish the project whereas a frame and suspension does nothing for my imagination. Wish me luck!
Wp

Post Scriptum:
How does one know for sure if their grill shell is Low or High style? I believe the one I own is low but is there a way to tell for certain?

Buy the body, then use 2X4 lumber to build your frame. Its easier to goof up on wood than metal.

Things do move slowly when planning & building a car. I have had the plans for the current project in my head for 10 years or more. Time & finances dont always allow things to happen at the pace we want them to, but you must have a plan and stick to it.

I find the trick is tke small steps and keep taking them. Collect the bits you need, but follow your plan/vision, and don't be distracted by "trends" or you will always be changing things and never get finished. Just keep plugging away, and you will acheive your goals.