Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the T-Bucket Forums discussions? Then sign up for a free forum account, today!

Sign Up

Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters                Spirit Industries                Southern Legacy Freight!               


Dismiss Notice
Thank you for visiting the T-Bucket Forums! This site was created in 2006, to provide enthusiasts with a place to discuss T-Buckets. Over the years, there have been many imitators, but this is the T-Bucket resource you have been looking to find. We encourage you to register a FREE account and join in on the discussions.

Complete Rewire Project

Discussion in 'Electrics' started by Indycars, Feb 26, 2015.

  1. Indycars

    Indycars
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,012
    Likes Received:
    713
    Gender:
    Male
    I had to laugh again when I read your comment about relay expert !!!

    I accept your nomination...... With my destructive testing over 7000 mile and 2 years it has not been a problem since 2015 (~2 years).....PotvinGuy(you be right) should we call it acceptable ???
     
  2. PotvinGuy

    PotvinGuy
    Expand Collapse
    Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,608
    Likes Received:
    447
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Quantum Mechanic (semi-retired)
    Good grief, time flies. I got distracted with new stuff for my front end (in my endless project thread), so the new dash is just a drawing and a pile of parts:
    [​IMG]

    Still have a month here before the cruises start and have a few issues on the car to sort. Going to Des Moines GG and Speedway/Lincoln this year.
    You have done well, young skywalker. Consider the relay man-rated and flight-ready.
    Got any pics of the dash and such?
     
  3. Indycars

    Indycars
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,012
    Likes Received:
    713
    Gender:
    Male
    I'm leaving tomorrow for a NTBA event in Nazerath Texas where the 2nd largest canyon in the US is located. It's a 5 hour drive to get there.

    I have not got around to building the new dash from the exotic wood, but there are some pics on pages 8 & 9 of this thread for the pine wood dash.
     
  4. Indycars

    Indycars
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,012
    Likes Received:
    713
    Gender:
    Male
    I'm getting tired of remembering to flip the switch off when I'm coming to a stop. The car
    bucks a little bit then down shifts and bucks a little in each gear if I don't flip the switch.
    Except for 1st gear, it's impossible to lockup in that gear. So, I got an idea to use a latching
    relay to keep the TC lockup engaged until I tap the brake pedal.

    Last time I replaced the brake switch I ordered one that also has normally closed (NC)
    contacts that is typically used for cruise control. I will use this to dis-engage the TC by
    opening those contacts when I tap the brake. Of the two relay boards (4 relays each)
    installed now, I have one relay that is not being used. This will become my latching relay
    after I modify it by simply adding a wire from pin #85 to #87.

    FP02_RelayModule_02684.jpg


    To engage the TC I will use a "Momentary Push Button Switch". Then the latching relay
    will stay on, keeping the TC locked. When I get off the highway and tap the brakes, the
    brake switch will de-energized the circuit by removing the ground.

    upload_2021-4-6_16-37-10.png

    Cooling,FuelPump,Horn&TCC_06.jpg
    TC_LockupDrawing02.jpg

    I’ve noticed that many times a diode is used to block the voltage spike when the magnetic
    field collapses. The diagram for my relay module is shown below.

    I’m wondering if someone can tell me what function the diodes in the diagram below
    are performing.

    Omron-Relay-Module-5.jpg
    .
     

    Attached Files:

  5. 409T

    409T
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,623
    Likes Received:
    329
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Retired
    You might check with Bowtie Overdrive. Their transmissions are wired to lock up the torque converter automatically, and you use a normally closed relay wired into the brake light circuit to disengage.
     
  6. PotvinGuy

    PotvinGuy
    Expand Collapse
    Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,608
    Likes Received:
    447
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Quantum Mechanic (semi-retired)
    The extra diodes are there to isolate the individual inputs from each other and the common control busses.
    Do you have a link to the relay module? It's been a while since I used one and I'd like to refresh my spotty memory.
    For some reason I don't get emails of new posts so I have to check daily and scan the forums.
     
  7. Indycars

    Indycars
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,012
    Likes Received:
    713
    Gender:
    Male
    When I checked, they didn't sell mine. But there were lots of other that looked identical
    except for the color on Amazon.
     
  8. Indycars

    Indycars
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,012
    Likes Received:
    713
    Gender:
    Male
    I'm trying to get my latching relay to work, but everything I have tried has failed.

    Can anyone point out what is wrong ? Should I use a diode for my jump on pins 85 to 87 ?

    Changes.01-DidNotWork.jpg
    .
     
  9. Indycars

    Indycars
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,012
    Likes Received:
    713
    Gender:
    Male
    Maybe I should include the drawing for the LED switch. Here it is ....

    ApieleMomentaryPBSwitchDiagram.jpg
     
  10. PotvinGuy

    PotvinGuy
    Expand Collapse
    Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,608
    Likes Received:
    447
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Quantum Mechanic (semi-retired)
    Indy, which button diagram (1-4) are you using?

    I've redrawn your wiring:
    Indys lockup trans.jpeg
    If this is correct a) the relay probably won't latch, and b) the trans will only get a momentary ground when you press the button.
    Let me know how the button is supposed to work (what is the light supposed to do), and I will respond with a suggested wiring as soon as I finish sorting my socks.
     
  11. Indycars

    Indycars
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,012
    Likes Received:
    713
    Gender:
    Male
    I want the ring light (Mom Switch) to be on when the TC is locked. To deactivate the TC will be the NC
    contacts on the brake light switch that open when I brake.

    How many socks do you own ??? :eek:
     
  12. PotvinGuy

    PotvinGuy
    Expand Collapse
    Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,608
    Likes Received:
    447
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Quantum Mechanic (semi-retired)
    This should do the trick:
    indys new circuit.jpeg
    Normally the relay is off, the LED is off and the TC is not locked. When you press the button the relay is energized and locks thru it's contacts. At the same time the TC locks and the LED is on. When the brake is pressed the relay drops out and everything goes back to normal. Note the wire colors on the button. The yellow wire is not used (it's the NC side of the button).

    Socks...well, if we include the pantyhose and the fishnet nylons...ah, maybe 3 drawers, tops.
     
    Screaming Metal likes this.
  13. Indycars

    Indycars
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,012
    Likes Received:
    713
    Gender:
    Male
    I see "12" in 3 places, I assume that's 12 volts ? Can I run those 3 wires to the fuse panel and thru a fuse ?

    You also added a diode, I have several 1N5402 diodes, will they work? What a minute, that light inside the momentary switch, right ? That's one of two blue boxes. Then the relay is the other blue box ?

    1N5402 Diode Pinout, Datasheet, Equivalents & Features

    You the man Mr Panty Hose !!! As long as you have answers, I don't care where you put fishnets !

    You should confer with IG, she might have some tips to make your life easier !
     
  14. old round fart

    old round fart
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,943
    Likes Received:
    873
    Occupation:
    Retired
    I’m still trying to flush the image of him in fishnet hose! Bringing IG into the conversion helps! Lol
     
    Screaming Metal and Indycars like this.
  15. Indycars

    Indycars
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,012
    Likes Received:
    713
    Gender:
    Male
    I just hope I didn't over step the bounds of good taste ! But only by a little !!!
     
    Screaming Metal likes this.
  16. Screaming Metal

    Screaming Metal
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,636
    Likes Received:
    253
    Occupation:
    Pro Engine Builder, Master Welder
    If your using a good efi or electronic ign., you could actually use your ign. or efi to trigger your lockup, using the signal to trip your relay or module. IE, engine vac., rpm, etc....
    I have used the brake line stoplight switches to kick them off....
     
  17. Indycars

    Indycars
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,012
    Likes Received:
    713
    Gender:
    Male
    Nope, just using my 750 cfm, Vac Sec carburetor and MSD ready to run distributor. But that
    does make me think about my AQ-1 data system ......hum what could I do with that ???
     
  18. PotvinGuy

    PotvinGuy
    Expand Collapse
    Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,608
    Likes Received:
    447
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Quantum Mechanic (semi-retired)
    Yeah, switched 12 for all 3, same fuse OK. The "diode" is the LED in the button. Sometimes an LED is shown as a diode (which it is) with a little squiggle or arrows near it indicating light, but the squiggle isn't always there.
    LEd 2.png
    You know, I don't like to spread rumors, but the fishnets came from ORF after a night of drinking at the last T NATS...I think.
     

    Attached Files:

    #198 PotvinGuy, Apr 30, 2021
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2021
  19. Indycars

    Indycars
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,012
    Likes Received:
    713
    Gender:
    Male
    OK, tomorrow I will try rewiring again and report my findings.

    It's not a rumor if my name is not included in the rumor !
     
  20. old round fart

    old round fart
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,943
    Likes Received:
    873
    Occupation:
    Retired
    HEY! Don’t get me involved here!
     






Advertise with Us! Advertise with Us! Advertise with Us! White Rose Technology Ting Mobile Buy VPN


SSL Certificate