Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

single filament front turn signals

Humidi-T

Ok, Either I've got a brain fart or this isn't just a simple fix.

I've got GM column, single filament front park lights, and LED units in the back. I want my front single filament lights to work as park and turn signals. What I want them to do is when in park light mode they are both lit, but when the turn signal switch is engaged, one of them flashes.

In older production GM cars, before LEDS, GM made the single filament side marker lights flash or burn steady, so I know it can be done (piggyback off of a working set of lamps). The Side markers flashed opposite of the turn signal. IE if the turn signal was on, and the lamp was illuminated, the side marker would be off. When the lamp was off, the side marker would be on.
Any Ideas?

I'm no expert, but maybe the solution is in the signal switch and not the bulb.:confused: KaolaT needs to probably step in on this one.

Darn Devil!:mad: let me get my boxing gloves.

I may be wrong, but I don't think the solution is in the switch. If I had two lamps or a dual filament lamp up front, I wouldn't be posting this.

I was given a pair of single filament side markers from a Honda Motorscooter. I can make them work as park lights and turn signals, but not without using four more relays (in addition to my headlight, fuel pump, horn and radiator fan relays). I just don't want to use such a complex circuit.

As I stand now, I can
A) have front park lights only
B) have front turn signals only
C) buy a new pair of dual filament lamps
D) create the most complex relay circuit ever seen in auto history.
5) buy one of them convertor thingys?

Option C looks pleasant.:)

Humidi-T said:
Ok, Either I've got a brain fart or this isn't just a simple fix.